Thanks to all involved in making our Future of Leadership Luncheon a success. We appreciate your support!

As our thanks to you, please enjoy the event images.

As our thanks to you, please enjoy viewing the luncheon images.

MORE DETAILS: Join Center for Houston’s Future along with co-chairs Marilyn and George DeMontrond and Melissa and Jamey Rootes in honoring civic leadership across the Houston region for the 2017 Future of Leadership Luncheon! We’re delighted this year to announce Dr. Robert Ivany as our keynote speaker. Currently President of the University of St. Thomas, Dr. Ivany came to Houston following a 34-year career in the U.S. Army. The West Point graduate was decorated for valor, served as Army Aide to President Ronald Reagan, and functioned as commandant of the Army War College. Since 2004 he has shaped our future leaders at St. Thomas. Dr Ivany will speak on his experiences with Civility in Leadership and how those lessons may be applied for future success.

The Center’s 14th annual Eugene H. Vaughan Civic Leadership Award will be presented to Harris County Judge and Mrs. Ed Emmett, for their practical, compassionate, innovative problem solving with a broad, future-focused approach to the challenges facing our beloved region. Gwen Emmett has been a powerful advocate for public health, particularly mental health. Judge Emmett has served as a model of pragmatic and effective governance while serving as Harris County’s Chief Executive since 2007.

We are fortunate to have Chevron as Presenting Sponsor again this year. Please join your fellow civic and business leaders to celebrate the future of leadership.

Presenting Sponsor

Premier Sponsor


Marilyn and George DeMontrond
The Robert and Janice McNair Foundation
Raye G. White

Media Sponsor

Eddie Allen/Eagle Global Advisors
Bank of America
Bracewell, LLP
Bud Light/Silver Eagle Distributors
William S. Bush
Coffeen Management Company
Dannenbaum Engineering Corporation
Jessica and Vean Gregg
Trinidad Mendenhall
Terry M. Shaikh
Texas Children’s Hospital
Susan and Gene Vaughan
Wells Fargo

Allegiance Bank
CenterPoint Energy
Comerica Bank
Community Health Choice
Harris Co. Judge and Mrs. Ed Emmett
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Houston Airports
Houston Methodist
JBD Foundation
Susan and Michael Jhin
JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Legacy Community Health/Chree Boydstun
Carrin Patman
Leila Perrin
Reliant, an NRG Company
Rice University
The Children’s Assessment Center
University of Houston – Downtown

Patron Couples
Ann and Kenny Friedman
Peaches and Shrub Kempner
Stephanie Peterson and Bill Peel
Phoebe and Bobby Tudor

Vaughan Award Tributes
Joan and Stanford Alexander
Christy and Brent Benoit
The Jenny and Jim Elkins Family Fund
Richard Everett
Karen and John Hofmeister
David Garcia
Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo
Ruthanne Mefford
Ginni and Richard Mithoff
Beth Robertson
Regina Rogers
E.D. Wulfe

Visionaries and Vanguards
Futurist level:Innovator level:
Catalyst level:
H-E-B, Wells Fargo
The Brown Foundation, Huffington Foundation, The Kresge Foundation, Lumina Foundation, MD Anderson Foundation, Texas Children’s Hospital, The Woodlands Township;
BLUE LANCE, Bracewell, Deloitte LLP, Kempner Capital Management, MAREK

2017 Future of Leadership Host Committee
Joni Baird
Richard Everett
Susan Fordice
Michael and Susan Jhin
Pamela Lovett
Trini Mendenhall
Leila Perrin
Phoebe and Bobby Tudor